» Home Page » Information about Cuckfield » Local Government

Local Government

Cuckfield Parish Council

Parish Clerk: Sam Heynes, Queens Hall, High Street, Cuckfield 01444 451610 email: clerk@cuckfield.gov.uk

Cuckfield Parish Council is a small local authority with ten councillors elected for four years. The public is welcome to all meetings of the Parish Council which are held in the Queen's Hall. Details of committees, meetings, minutes, etc. can all be found on the website. The Parish Council Office on the ground floor of the Queen's Hall, is open Monday - Friday: 10am - 3pm

In Cuckfield the Council:

  • Owns and manages the community centre at the Queen's Hall.
  • Owns and manages the Burial Ground and allotment gardens.
  • Provides and maintains the village clock and many benches, bus shelters and litter bins, as well as a number of the street lights down the footpaths. The Parish Council is also responsible for the public toilets in the Broad Street Car Park and the skatepark at Whitemans Green.
  • Comments on all planning applications in the parish - Mid Sussex District Council then makes the final decision, taking into account our views.
  • Provides extra maintenance around the village including the upkeep of the twittens, the hanging basket displays and the roundabouts.
  • Liaises with West Sussex County Council regarding traffic problems. At present the Parish Council is working with local schools under the ‘Safe Routes to Schools’ campaign with the aim of reducing traffic speed in the village in order to encourage more children to walk or cycle to school.


Ansty and Staplefield Parish Council

Parish clerk: Liz Bennett, 01444 483018, email  clerk@anstystaplefield-pc.gov.uk.

Ansty and Staplefield Parish Council is responsible for an area of West Sussex that runs from the North West side of Burgess Hill towards Handcross. It covers the settlements of Ansty, Staplefield and Brook Street. Cuckfield Parish Council covers the village of Cuckfield. The parish has just over 900 residents on the register of electors. Members of the public are warmly invited to attend Parish Council meetings. Find out more by reading some minutes or viewing the agenda for the next meeting.

Mid Sussex District Council

MSDC is the district Council covering Cuckfield. Cuckfield Ward councillora:

Robert Salisbury (Con)
Tel: 01444 417779
Email: robert.salisbury@midsussex.gov.uk

Pete Bradbury (Con)
Tel: 01444 452057
Email: pete.bradbury@midsussex.gov.uk

West Sussex County Council

WSCC is the County Council covering Cuckfield. Our local councillor is:

Mr Peter Bradbury (Con)
West Meads, Deaks Lane, Ansty, W.Sussex, RH17 5AS

Tel: 01444 452057
Mobile: 07770 557755
Email: pete.bradbury@westsussex.gov.uk
Website: www.petebradbury.co.uk.

Local MP

Our member of parliament is Nicholas Soames MP.

Write to him at:

House of Commons
London. SW1A 0AA

Tel: 020 7219 4143
Fax: 020 7219 2998