» Home Page » Cuckfield Society » Planning & Heritage » Planning Who's Who

Planning Who's Who

Various people have a key involvement in determining planning policy:

Local MP

Our MP is The Rt Hon Nicholas Soames MP. Whilst not involved in setting local policy, our MP can respond to local concerns directly with the organisation concerned.

County Councillor

Our West Sussex County Council representative is Peter Bradbury (Westmeads, Deaks Lane, Ansty, RH17 5AS. Tel 01444 452057). Whilst WSCC have limited influence in setting planning policy now, they are a statutory consultee to every planning application, and are important for responding on issues like highways and education.

Mid Sussex District Council

MSDC Chief Executive is John Jory.

The Head of Economic Promotion & Planning is Claire Tester (01444 477322). It is her department which puts together the planning documents for adoption by the council, subsequent to elected approval, and also administers planning applications.

The Leader of the Council is Cllr Garry Wall (59 Sydney Rd, Haywards Heath, West Sussex, RH16 1QD. Tel 07983 477316).

Cuckfield's district councillors are:

Robert SALISBURY (C) - Ladywell, Courtmead Road, Cuckfield, RH17 5LP. Tel: 01444 417779,
Edward KING (C) - 1 Manor Drive, Cuckfield, RH17 5BT. Tel: 01444 453609.

Cuckfield Parish Council

See Frances Jones at the Queen's Hall offices (01444 451610). Robert Salisbury is the chair.